Autistic Alex

Blogging about neurodiversity, psychology and fandom.

Introducing me!

2 Comments

Hi, I’m Alex. As you have probably deduced, I’m autistic, I’m called Alex and this is my blog.  I have a lot of thoughts regarding various theories about autistic people, and this is intended to be a space for me to blog about them. I’m also a massive fandom geek, and a psychology student (First year, University of London), so this blog will likely branch off into those topic at times, including more personal stuff.

I was pretty late diagnosed, at 18, as I slipped through the cracks as a child, despite being sent to multiple psychologists.

I believe in identity first language, neurodiversity, and the social model of disability, so I will use “A/autistic person” and “disabled person” as my default for the autistic and disabled communities as a whole, and whatever is the preference of a specific group or person if referring specifically to them. I’m English and London based, but most of my contact with the autistic community has been with the american parts, so I tend to use disablism (the UK standard term for discrimination against disabled people) and ableism (the US standard) interchangeably online.

I aim towards intersectional feminism, and cross-disability rights activism, so do feel free to tell me if I fall short, I won’t take offense and will probably try to change things.

That’s about all I think, so welcome to my blog 🙂

2 thoughts on “Introducing me!

  1. Hi Alex.

    I left a comment some time ago explaining why I like the puzzle piece. I feel that it was well thought out and that it didn’t didn’t minimize anybody or any group of people. I explained why it is important in my life.

    As of yesterday my comment was awaiting moderation. I can no longer find it here today.

    I find this unfair. I realize that I am taking a stance different to that of yourself and others, but I didn’t discredit your view on the subject… I just explained mine. I never said that your view was invalid, only that my view was valid for myself.

    I don’t think that you are going to have a truly open and accepting dialogue if you censor people who contribute in an honest way, and who are accepting, and potentially even seeking a true argument in the true sense of the word that an argument is a debate of ideas and a sharing of understanding. An opportunity to learn from one another. True arguments allow people the platform for sharing their position, potentially swaying the positions of others, and the freedom to change their own position. A good argument is persuasive, and not meant to offend. Ever.

    Something that I didn’t mention in my previous comment (I think… I cannot reread it to check because I cannot find it) is that I am an elementary school teacher. I teach many children. I teach “typical” children as well as children with ASD, gifted children, and children with learning disabilities. I like the puzzle piece because I feel that it represents myself and ALL those children that I teach and that I have taught.

    Like a puzzle, we all need to come together in order to form a working society. That society may be in the form of a classroom, school team, school community, family, town, city, province (I am Canadian), country, or world. One that is cohesive. Ideally it would be in the form of all of these and more.

    So, yes, the puzzle piece is used to represent, fairly or unfairly, those with ASD, but I feel that it represents all peoples.

    In the end doesn’t everybody have to figure themselves out and figure out where they belong? I really believe that perhaps a reworking, or re-imaging of the message of the puzzle piece is needed instead of a total rejection of it.

    I mean no offense with the following comparison:

    It seems to me that when you take a word or symbol used to diminish yourself or a group of people and then “own” that word or symbol, then you become empowered by it. The “N Word” comes to mind. The black community “owns” that word now and many others are afraid to use it in fear of the implications of doing so.

    Lastly I would like to further clarify when I said that “I teach many children. I teach “typical” children as well as children with ASD, gifted children, and children with learning disabilities.” People with ASD often present as gifted, and if my memory serves me correctly, more often as having learning disabilities. There is a small group that present more on less “typically”. Is this not puzzling? Why does this happen. This is something that I would very much like to know the answer to. For myself. For my own understanding. So that I can share.

    I would really appreciate a reply to this comment and perhaps an explanation of what happened to my previous comment, and why it happened.

    Sincerely,

    Jason DelGuidice

    • Please stop assuming censorship. I approve all comments, regardless of content. I don’t always check her very often, but I don’t pick and choose which comments get approved.

      Using the puzzle piece to represent all people is a really, really different thing from using the puzzle piece to represent autistic people.

      Lots of things about lots of disorders are unknown. That’s no reason to describe a whole group of people as “puzzling”. That’s your perspective, it’s not ours.

      Your post got flagged as spam, I’ve unflagged it and posted it, along with lots of others in my pending queue.

Leave a Reply

